wire-rack-1311161_1920.jpg

Cranio Facial Kinetic Science

 

What is craniofacial therapy?

Craniofacial therapy treats disorders, dysfunctions or anomalies in the orofacial sphere. Our face reflects our identity and is a determining factor in our social contacts. Any damage (accident, disability, illness, functional disorder, etc.) takes on proportions that go beyond the simple physical problem and affects the private, family and social sphere
Domains concerned by craniofacial therapy
usages - GB.jpg
According to Dr. h.c. Susanne Codoni
Two main principles govern craniofacial management:
 
Interdisciplinarity and a global approach to the person
 
 
There is a Basque proverb: "You can't treat someone who enjoys being sick".
 
The patient is at the centre of the therapeutic process. Without their involvement and the one of their relatives, the therapist does not obtain any good results. The patient is the actor of their healing, and the therapist acts as a support that guides them.
 
Depending on the problem that needs to be treated, the therapist will be in contact with other professionals such as maxillofacial surgeons, doctors, ORLs, dentists, logopaedics, psychologists, educators, etc. to have a complete vision of the situation and to be effective.
 
Cervical pain can be attributed, for example, to poor permanent head posture. But , it must be first clarified why it is misaligned: is it due to a visual defect or pelvic malformation, knee pain, or a congenital posture error? It is only when the cause has been found that the following question is asked:
 
Where is the primary cause of my problem situated?
 
then
 
How can I fix it ?
 
Once the diagnosis has been established, the therapist and the patient determine together the course of the therapy, its goals, its duration and its costs. They also evaluate the progress of the therapy together on a regular basis.
The therapists practicing craniofacial therapy as described on this site have all followed the course of  the Master Cranio Facial Kinetic Science course at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Basel (Switzerland).

How does this therapy take place?

 

Each person is different.  Therefore, the therapy is not the same for a child who has speaking problems due to a malposition of the tongue in the mouth than for an adult who broke their jaw after a fall, for example.

However, you will almost always find the following elements:

LISTENING - DISCUSSION - OBSERVATION

REFLECTION - DEVELOPMENT OF THE SET GOALS

ANALYSIS - POSTURE - STABILITY - DOCUMENTATION: pictures - films, ...

MUSCULAR STIMULATIONS ( kost® (German) , myofunctional therapy , ...) - EXERCISES TO BE REPEATED AT HOME - POSSIBLE INTERVENTION OF OTHER THERAPISTS (Physiotherapist, osteopath, ophthalmologist, orthodontist, ...)

EVALUATION - RE-EVALUATION

 

How does it work ?

Our body is made of a single piece - all the parts (muscles, organs, bones, nervous and blood systems, etc.) being connected to each other by fascias (see: The mysterious world under the skin)

 

That's why you won't be surprised that the therapist first observes your feet to treat neck pain.

 

The stimuli and impulses given by the therapist and the exercises to be repeated have an impact on the whole body and have an impact on the posture and the bad habits. They allow the neuromuscular system to integrate new functional patterns.

Capture d’écran 2018-09-01 à 18.34.44.pn

Image: ARTE - Fascinating fascias

Cranio Facial Kinetic Science

 

Was ist  craniofaziale Therapie?

Die craniofaziale Therapie behandelt Störungen, Funktionsstörungen oder Anomalien der orofazialen Sphäre . Unser Gesicht spiegelt unsere Identität wider und ist ein bestimmender Faktor unserer sozialen Kontakte. Jede Beeinträchtigung (Unfall, Behinderung, Krankheit, Funktionsstörung u.a.) nimmt Ausmaße an, die über das lediglich körperliche Problem hinausgehen und den privaten, familiären und sozialen Bereich betreffen.
Bereiche der craniofazialen Therapie
Selon Susanne Codoni
Zwei Hauptprinzipien bestimmen das kraniofaziale Management:
 
                                                 Interdisziplinarität und ganzheitlicher Zugang zur Person
 
 
Der Patient steht im Mittelpunkt des Therapieprozesses. Ohne seine Beteiligung und die seines Umfeldes erzielt der Therapeut keine guten Ergebnisse. Genaugenommen fällt dem Patienten die aktive Rolle bei seiner Heilung zu, wobei der Therapeut  eine eher beratende und unterstützende Funktion übernimmt
 
Je nach dem zu behandelnden Problem wird der Therapeut in Verbindung mit anderen Fachleuten wie MKG-Chirurgen, HNO-Ärzten, Zahnärzten, Physiotherapeuten, Psychologen und Pädagogen, Logopäden oder Osteopathen,  eine ganzheitlichen Blcik auf die Problematik suchen wollen  um so effektive Fortschritte zu erzielen.
 
Nackenschmerzen können z.B. auf eine dauerhaft schiefe Kopfhaltung zurückgeführt werden. Aber warum der Kopf schief gehalten wird, muss erst geklärt werden: ist die Ursache ein Sehfehler oder ein Beckenschiefstand, Schmerzen im Knie oder ein angeborener Haltungsfehler? Erst wenn die Ursache gefunden ist, kann die Frage gestellt werden:
 
Wo liegt die Ursache meines Problems?
 
und dann erst
 
Wie kann  das behoben werden?
 
Ist die Diagnose gestellt, bestimmen Therapeut und Patient schlieβlich gemeinsam den Verlauf der Therapie, ihre Ziele, ihre Dauer und ihre Kosten. Ebenso bewerten sie regelmässig gemeisam  die Fortschritte in der Therapie.
Die auf dieser Seite zitierten Therapeuten haben alle den Kurs des Master Cranio Facial Kinetic Science der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Basel (Schweiz) besucht.

Wie läuft die Therapie ab ?

 

Jede Person ist anders.  Deshalb ist die Therapie bei einem Kind, das Ausdrucksprobleme aufgrund einer Fehlstellung der Zunge  hat, nicht die gleiche wie bei einem Erwachsenen, der sich beispielsweise nach einem Sturz den Kiefer gebrochen hat.

Allerdings werden Sie fast immer die folgenden Elemente finden:

ZUHÖREN - GESPRÄCH - BEOBACHTUNG

REFLEXION - ZIELE SETZEN

ANALYSE - HALTUNG - STABILITÄT - DOKUMENTATION: Fotos - Filme, ...

MUSKULÄRE STIMULATIONEN ( kost® (deutsch) , myofunktionelle Therapie , ...) - ÜBUNGEN ZU HAUSE - MÖGLICHE INTERVENTION ANDERER THERAPEUTEN (Physiotherapeut, Osteopath, Augenarzt, Kieferorthopäde, ...)

BEWERTUNG - NEUBEWERTUNG

 

Wie wirkt es?

Unser Körper besteht aus einem Stück, alle Teile (Muskeln, Organe, Knochen, Nerven- und Blutsysteme u.a.) sind durch Faszien verbunden: (Video: Faszien - Geheimnisvolle Welt unter der Haut)

 

Deshalb sollte es sie nicht überraschen, wenn der Therapeut mit der Beobachtung Ihrer Füße beginnt, um Nackenschmerzen zu behandeln.ln.

 

Die Reize und Impulse, welche der Therapeut setzt, und die zu wiederholenden Übungen wirken sich auf den ganzen Körper aus und beeinflussen  die Körperhaltung und schlechte Gewohnheiten. Sie ermöglichen es dem neuromuskulären System, neue Funktionsmuster zu integrieren.

Bild: ARTE - Faszinierende Faszien

© 2019 par Marlène Linder Lovis - Toute reproduction interdite sans autorisation